Afternoon Delight

Back in the nineteenth century, it was normal for people to take only two meals a day – breakfast in the morning and dinner around 8 o’clock. (WHAT?!?!) Anna, the 7th Duchess of Bedford, would get a little “hangry” in the late afternoon while waiting for dinner. I mean, who wouldn’t?!? Her solution was a pot of tea and a light snack taken privately in her quarters during the afternoon. She later took to inviting her friends over to join her, creating a movement that had the fashionable society sipping tea and nibbling sandwiches in the middle of the afternoon. Brilliant!

001(69of75)

This afternoon tea inspired photo styled session with Sarah Robertson was so much fun. It reminded me of when I used to play dress up and host teat parties as a little girl. I’d invite my little brothers and all of my stuffed animals to enjoy “pretend” tea and snacks. Sometimes, if we were sneaky enough, we would get away with putting water in our tea pot and pouring that for each other! Shhh…

001(2of75)

This beautiful ‘Country Rose’ bone china from Royal Albert is something special that comes from my Mother’s china hutch. The color detail in the roses made for a perfect match for our Spring session. Setting up for an afternoon tea works wonderfully for an intimate afternoon wedding reception, or for a fun bridal shower set up! This allows you to serve small finger sandwiches or light snacks, like these delicious macrons from Sugar Bee Cafe in Redlands. (Did I mention they make stunning wedding cakes?)

One of my main goals with this styled session was to show that less can be more. We cut the frills and stripped it down to what we thought was pure elegance – a natural makeup,  a classic braid, a traditional black tux, and a stunning white lace gown from Beloved Couture Bridal. (I just bought my OWN wedding dress from them and I LOVE it!)

001(8of75)

The uniqueness of this dress was just breathtaking. The lace, the low back… The details were to die for!! And to think that the purchase of this wedding gown helps support a family caring for a loved one with terminal cancer. If you want to learn more about the Beloved Foundation and how your wedding dress can make a difference, click HERE.

I got to have a little creative fun with the floral design in this session! This isn’t something I do on a regular basis, but I do enjoy having the freedom and flexibility of creating beautiful things.

001(10of75)

I want to thank all of the amazing vendors who were involved in making this shoot happen. I am so blessed to have such a fabulous network of talented professionals!

Photography by Sarah Robertson Photos

Hair by Aarika Foulston

Makeup by Ashton Lopez

Dress by Beloved Couture Bridal

Design & Florals by Willow Tree Weddings

Venue: Speakeasy on State

China: Royal Albert Country Rose

Leave a Reply

