Captured | Southern California Wedding Planner

When Wolfie asked me out on our first date, I had no idea I would end up falling in love with him. We had been friends for close to 10 years, and not once did I pick up on any of his “advances”… (According to him, they were coming since we were 18) But he was confident that I was going to be his person. Little did I know, I would very soon feel the same way.

I was late to our first date. Like, 2 hours late. (In my defense, Kane refused to sleep that night, so we missed our reservation for dinner.) So after the kiddo finally knocked out, I met Wolf and we ventured out to one of those “escape rooms.” It was a blast! One of the best dates I had ever been on – no awkward silences, no forced conversation.  Wolfie says he knew that night that he wanted to marry me.

Wolf and I had a great time hanging out. He met Kane, and for them it was love at first sight. They are seriously two peas in a pod. Both a bunch of goofs!

We instantly became a family. So naturally, I wouldn’t need to think twice when Wolf suggests we take family portraits for our Christmas card.

I called my girlfriend Laarne and she was totally excited to photograph our little crew. We decided to take our photos up in the mountains, since we loved the fall leaves. So when Wolf asked me for her number to give her some insight on a few locations, it was no big deal. Again, no reason to second guess.

0a4a3513

Our photo shoot was such a fun adventure. I loved every minute of it! By the time we moved to the second location, I was getting a little HANGRY. We promised we were going to take Laarne out to dinner for driving all the way up the hill, and I could almost taste the Thai food that was waiting for us back in the village. But we weren’t done yet…

an3a2104

We took a few more shots on the bridge, and then decided to make our way down toward the lake for some sunset photos. We trekked along the brush for what seemed like forever and finally made it to the beach. Little did I know, this moment was going to change my life.

Laarne asked us to just “be.” Now for those of you who don’t know what that means, it’s like asking someone to “just act natural.” I don’t know why, but when someone asks that of you, it is THE MOST difficult thing to do in the world! So “naturally,” I start giggling. Kane yells, “I have to go pee…” And Wolfie is frozen, assuming with fear. But I wouldn’t have traded that moment for anything in the world.

0a4a3803

What happened after the proposal was even more beautiful. I learned that Wolfie (who works 40 hrs a week, about 1.5 hours away from where my family lived) made it a point to ask for my family’s blessing – each and every one of them! What blew me away was that he told Kane… my 5 year old son… and not one peep from that little guy for a whole week!

It brought us all to tears!

AN3A2261.jpg

I will never forget this beautiful day, or the moment I would become the luckiest girl alive. But thankfully, my dear friend was there to capture every moment. And for that, Laarne, we are forever grateful! Can’t wait for you to capture all of the precious moments on our wedding day.

Leave a Reply

