Something Blue | Southern California Wedding Planner

Something old, something new, something borrowed, something BLUE!

This Old English rhyme is also a tradition that has been upheld for centuries, “Something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue, and a six pence in your shoe.” I have done a little digging and have learned the significance behind the “something blue” phrase. A blog post on The Knot‘s website says that the “something blue” represents purity, love and fidelity. #win

I have asked some of my favorite photographers in the wedding industry to share an image of their favorite “blue” things with me. Here’s what we came up with. ENJOY!

laarne-co-1

Laarne says, “I love this photo not only because of the beautiful blue wall with the colorful mosaic glass but because these two are so in love with each other. When I met the bride she was very quiet and serious. As soon as I saw them together, she beamed, laughed more and opened up with him. I believe that people should marry someone because they bring the best out of them. Also, Stacie and Mike have the coolest (hence the blue) styles. They envisioned, designed and executed their wedding their way. I’m still in contact with them as friends because I just love them so . =)”

Orange County Wedding Photographer Leah Vis.jpg

Leah Vis Photography in Riverside, CA shared an image with me from one of her couples, Jesse and Luke. Leah loved that Jesse wore “blue” shoes!

MM2014-23.jpg

Coco Mckown said, “This was from my best friend’s wedding.  She and her husband were married in the San Francisco courthouse (GORGEOUS space).  Growing up, she adored her grandmother’s box of buttons, especially the blue ones.  She had her florist incorporate them into her bouquet.  It was adorable and so meaningful!”

Arnold0496

Harleene Bonales of This is Love Made Photography took it to another level with Wes and Briana and added a “pop” of blue to the shot. I love it!

189_mcartor

Dress blues are always a winner! Cory and his fellow marines/groomsmen wore theirs on the day he married Adah at Crestmore Manor in Riverside, CA.

To me, traditions are beautiful. They are pieces of our heritage, our culture, our ancestors, that we carry with us throughout life’s journeys. Let’s keep these traditions going strong!

Do you have a “something blue” image that you love? I would love for you to share it with me, and to tell me WHY you chose it to be a part of your wedding day.

Leave a Reply

