“If I Were You, I Would Jump”

How do we know our true potential if we don’t try? If we don’t take risks? The truth is, we won’t. About a month ago, I felt a HUGE calling to take the plunge. To jump off the cliff and dive into my wedding planning business full time.

Sure, I had thought about it before. But the idea of me – the single mom – leaving behind my consistent income to MAYBE make ends meet each month was terrifying. It didn’t seem realistic. Plus, I was comfortable. I had a job that I liked, and I was getting an easy paycheck every two weeks. It was a no brainer.

It wasn’t until a wedding I did in November that I had the opportunity to chat with a few other wedding vendors. They shared their “leap of faith” stories, and told me that they felt the same scared emotions I had. BUT, they were working dead end jobs and needed to push themselves to the next level. They told me that once they took the leap, things fell into place. The money came because they knew it had to. They worked hard. They freed up so many hours that were spent at their jobs to focus on building their business, meeting new clients, and so on. They had faith in God, and He provided. It was in that moment that I knew it was time for me to do the same.

I continued to pray about it. I still felt very scared about the possibility of failure. I had a few long conversations with close friends and family, and all of them agreed that it was time for me to take the chance. I’m telling you, I couldn’t have been more happy with the outcome of my decision. I now have more time to hang out with my son, I can keep the house relatively clean, cook meals on a regular basis, I rarely feel crunched for time. The list goes on. But most importantly? I’m succeeding.

So, to anyone else out there who is aspiring to jump – this one’s for you!

 

Leave a Reply

